My first gingerbread house

19 12 2011

I’ve been trying to find the time to post for Christmas but the holidays have bee n crazy.  I made my first gingerbread house from scratch this year.  I have only made one before in my life and it was when I was much younger and I did it with my grandma.  She died a number of years ago and I always think of her this time of year.  So I decided to take a some of my memories and keep them well.  Baking with her is what we did she.  There wasn`t anything that she couldn`t do.  Seriously she was a amazing……I wish I had photos to show all of you.  Taking this on this year I thought I was ready to show my nieces all my major skills.  That didn`t work out so well, thought I would finish two houses in one night….not possible.  Gingerbread takes time….for sure.  I hard time with making and rolling out the dough.  I doubled the batch and it didn`t turn out as smooth as I hoped apparently my mixer does not have enough horse power to handle that much dough.  My friend told my it made it more rustic….I guess it did….she is the sweetest.  So here it is…..la gingerbread house.

I went to my absolute most favorite store when it  comes to this stuff…. Scoop n Save.  I  bought the chocolat rocks for the path and rock candy for the chimney.  I also grabbed the snazzy plastic reindeer and trees.

Ok…I know they are bit kitschy but I love them and how great would these trees and deer be in a snow globe DIY.  They deer was 50 cents and the trees were 35 cents. CHEAP.

I cut out the window openings then crushed up some Kerr clear hard candies for the windows. Baked at 350 degrees till the melted.  I love how they just look like frosted windows.

He looks so serious, eh.  Candy is serious business.  Mike (my husband) asked informed me that mushroom do not grow in the winter time.  I told him that coconut covered mushrooms grow in magical gingerbread forest where plastic reindeer live……duh.

Next year I am not playing around.  I am going to work on piping skills and my nieces are going to have some serious memories that they will be able to pass on….and my sons.  Their future wives will be so impressed!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

